“What the hell do you mean he’s not coming!
Why?” Rick demanded to know.
Stepping back out of the way of Rick’s rage,
“Look don’t get mad at me I came ok? And don’t kill the messenger but he said
he was sick and tired of being lied to by her and by you guys and she did this
to herself and that he’s tired of waiting in waiting rooms to see if she’s
alright. He said he’s done.” Richie told them sadly.
He could see
that the brothers were fuming. “He did did he! Well we’ll see about that!” Rick
shouted and left the room very angry.
“Where the
hell is he going?” Richie asked.
“To kill your
boss and friend! Come on let’s go before he makes good on that.” A.J. told him.
They got into Richie’s rental and headed to the hotel and prayed they would
make it there at the same time Rick did.
Jon was
sitting in the bar of the hotel trying very hard to get drunk. It wasn’t
working very well. Tico and David were sitting on either side of him giving him
the stink eye so that wasn’t helping him either. But he was staring at the same
drink now for more than an hour and had only a few sips of it. And I don’t know
how many of Get lost’s and Fuck off’s you can say to two of your best friends
and brother’s before they can get the hint and take it and don’t. “Look guys I
just want to be the fuck alone ok. So FUCK OFF!” as he tried again.
Tico tried
once more “You’re sure you don’t want to go to the hospital and…” but Jon
stopped him short.
“Don’t Tico
just don’t. I can’t think right now. She made me a promise and she broke it. I
can’t keep doing this.” he said as he just stared off into space.
“Ok Jon but
how are we going to tell her that you never even showed up or even cared to.
Huh? Ever even think she might have had a good reason that she did what she
did? You know she’s put up with all of our crap that you’ve shoved at her and
she never walked away from you has she? No! But you’re going to walk away from
her. I’ve known you since we’ve been kids Jon and I’ve been thru hell and back
with you and I know a lot of your secrets. You were pretty quiet with what
happened with Dot and we didn’t push which was ok because to be honest none of
us really liked her. But Mary we do so I’m going to be honest with you what
you’re doing to her is pretty crappy!” Dave got out before any of them saw the
man come up behind them and grab Jon from behind.
He turned Jon
around before anyone could do anything and punched him dead in the face luckily
not breaking his nose but making it bleed pretty good and what will leave a
good black eye. Two men came running from the entrance of the bar then standing
next to the other two men staring down at Jon staring up at the five of them
one holding back his brother. “Holy crap Rick you got him good.” A.J. said
shocked.
“Let me go
A.J. I’m not done with the Son-of-a-Bitch!” Rick yelled struggling to get loose
from A.J.
Richie bent
down to see if Jon needed any help. “You want a cold cloth or anything for your
eye or nose?” Richie asked him unsympathetically.
Jon just
looked at him. “No why the hell do care anyway?” He said point blank to Richie
as he refused his hand to get up. Looking Rick straight in the eye, “Do you
want to keep hitting me Rick! Because you can’t hurt me anymore than I’ve
already hurt myself!” Jon said as he got up rubbing the blood off his nose with
his sleeve and touching his eye tenderly.
“You just stay
the hell away from her you got that! If you can’t give her your precious time
then don’t show yourself at all Asshole!” Rick shouted!
“Come on Rick calm
the hell down you’ll give yourself a stoke you’re so mad. He’s not worth it. We
need to get back to the hospital and see if she’s out of surgery and find out
what the doctor has to say.” A.J. said angrily.
They were just
leaving as Jon said, “Surgery? She…She’s had surgery?” he was stunned that she
had to have surgery this time around. “Why?” he asked startled.
Ricked turned around and as angry as he was
yelled, “Ask Sambora!” and the Simon's walked out leaving a very confused Jon
standing there.
As the Simon's
had left Jon turned to Richie as Tico and Dave looked on. “Richie? She had
surgery? Why what happened?” He asked concerned but Richie was having none of
it.
“Oh we’re caring now? You said you were done
Jon well maybe I am too.” He told his best friend. Jon grabbed Richie’s arm as
he turned to leave but Richie whipped around and stared him down. “Don’t Jon!”
he yelled at him.
“What the hell did I do to you?” Jon asked
him.
“Are you kidding me? You find out that she was
trying to figure out who was sending her the flowers and stuff behind your back
because she loves you and she didn’t want you to get hurt. Then that bitch
Kristen comes on to you and you like an idiot let her. Then when you find out
that she went behind your back you dump her. You don’t want to see her anymore.
You had it with her. Well guess what you don’t get to know anything that’s
going on with her then Jackass! Now I’m going back to the hospital to see if
she’s ok. If you guys want to come with me your more than welcome but if I see
him you better hold me back!” Richie told them as he left for his rental car.
Tico looked at Jon, “Look we’re going with
Richie when you get your head out of your ass then we’ll talk.” And he and Dave
went to go meet Richie. Jon just stood there stunned. He finally turned back to
the bar and ordered himself a Jack.
They waited a few more hours in the waiting
room to hear word on Mary. It had been five and a half hours now and it was
driving them crazy. They couldn’t drink anymore coffee they just couldn’t get any
more down. Rick seemed like he had enough waiting and when he was about to go
and ask that’s when the doctor came in to talk to them. “Mr. Simon?” the doctor
asked.
“Yes that’s us
Dr. Wilson my brother and I.” A.J. told him.
“Oh well I
just wanted to tell you both then that we were able to stabilize the internal
bleeding but it was hard to find. Just when we thought we had it repaired there
were two more that we had to find. They really did a job on her. Also she had a
hair line fracture in her skull. We x-rayed that before we went in and able to
take care of that also. She’s going to need to be hospitalized for at least a
few days until I’m sure she can leave on her own accord.” He told them. They
listen to what the doctor told them and that they would be able to see her when
she returns to her room. He told them that a nurse will come out and let them
know when she is in her room. They all sat down and sighed a sigh of relief.
Dave asked a question
that he didn’t know if it would go over to well. “I hate to ask this but um
should I call Jon and let him know that Mary is ok?”
They all
looked at each other and Richie said, “Screw him. If he couldn’t bother to come
with us then just screw him.” He said as he got up and walked out.
“What changed
his mind?” Rick asked.
“He’s pissed
that Jon’s throwing away the best thing that ever walked into his life. And
because she’s not doing what he asked her to do not only is his feelings hurt
but his manhood. You see he wants to be able to protect her not the other way
around. He does love her trust us we know that for a fact. He just has a hard
time sometimes showing it. You would too if you knew what he went thru as a
kid.” Tico told them.
They just looked
at them confused. “Look we’re going to go look for Richie say Hi to her for us
and that we’re thinking about her but we do need to get back to the arena.”
Tico said as he and Dave said bye.
About an hour
later they were told what room to go to and they went in and saw her sleeping.
They both sat down and waited for her to wake up. Back at the arena the three
of them were looking for Jon but found Obie instead. Asking him if they had
seen him Obie told them that he had come in about half an hour ago and he was
hurting really bad. They ask him what he was talking about and Obie told them
that he believe Jon must of drank half the bar earlier because he was not only
wearing his sunglasses but he also looked like death warmed over. The guys told
Obie what else that had happened and how Richie told him off which would
explain the drinking. Tico also asked if he had seen Alec and Obie said that
the last time he had seen him was in Kraft services. Dave said he would get
Alec and meet them on the stage for sound check so Jon wouldn’t have a hissy
and Richie and Tico would get Jon and bring him. Dave actually for once figured
he had the better choice.
She finally woke up to find
her brothers sitting watching the news. She looked around the room but was disappointed
at who she didn’t see. “Hey” she was able to get out. Both turned around to see
that she had woken up.
“Hey there beautiful you’re
finally awake.” A.J. said.
“How long was I out?” she
asked them groggily.
“Well it depends because you
had to have surgery so you were out for at least a day.” A.J. told her.
“Do you remember anything Honey?” Rick asked
her.
“Yeah all of it. Jasmine is just as crazy as
her brother was. But I don’t remember exactly when I passed out on her.” She
told them.
“Well she’s in jail Honey so
you don’t have to worry about her anymore. “Rick stated.
Mary shook her head. “Well I
guess I should ask where’s Jon?” even thou she had a feeling.
They both looked at each
other and A.J. answered. “They have sound check is it?”
“It’s ok guys he’s not coming is he?” she
asked.
“How’d you know?” Ricked asked on how she knew
that.
“Just a gut feeling. I knew if I went out
again doing something like this without taking security with me he would have a
fit. And not seeing him here when I woke up just confirmed everything. He’s
really pissed at me isn’t he?” she asked them.
“Yeah he is Sweetie…” A.J.
started to tell her.
“It’s ok really just do me a
favor would you two get my things for me. I don’t think I’ll have the strength
emotionally or physically to do it.” She told them with tears in her eyes.
“You’re leaving him?” A.J.
asked.
“Not my doing. It’s just
that I broke a promise to him that one: I wouldn’t lie to him anymore and two:
I wouldn’t break anymore promises to him and I did both. So he’s probably
really pissed and he’s broken up with other girlfriends for less than that. That’s
why he’s not here. When I get out of here can we just go home please?” she
asked them as tears flowed down her cheeks.
“Yeah Sweetie we can go
home.” Rick told her feeling bad for her.
Sound check was just hell. Jon nitpicked
everything. At one point the guys had to get in-between Jon and Richie thinking
that they were going to come to blows at one point.
“What the hell is your problem Sambora!” Jon
yelled.
“You’re my problem Bon Jovi!
There’s nothing wrong with my playing and you know it! I’m playing it the same
way as I always do. I can’t help it if your damn ears are clogged!” Richie
yelled back.
“OK that’s it! You two can yell at each other till
the damn cows come home but this isn’t going to solve anything.” Tico told
them.
“Look Tico my business is my business all of
you just stay out of it.” Jon said as Obie yelled to him.
“Hey Jon I have Rich B. on the phone.”
“Take a message will ya Ob.”
“He says it’s important.”
“Fine” Jon ran over to the
phone, “This better be important Rich, who’s there? They are? What are they
doing? Stall them will ya I’ll be right there. Ob get me a car I’m going back
to the hotel.”
The guys were at the hotel
and after they demanded to be let into Jon’s suite they started to pack up
Mary’s things. “You know Jon’s going to be pissed that you guys are here doing
this without him?” Rich B. told them.
“Look these are our sister’s
things and she asked us to pack them up. So back the hell off.” Rick told him. Rich
stalled as long as he could.
Just as the brothers were
getting ready to leave with her suitcases Jon walked in. “What the hell is
going on here?” he asked them.
“What does it look like?”
Rick shot back sarcastically.
“Rick don’t. She asked us to
get her things, Jon she’s going to need a change of clothes when they finally
let her out of the hospital and she also needs her I.D. so we’re just going to
drop off what she needs and bring the rest to our room for when we take her
home.” A.J. explained to him.
“Who says she’s going home with you guys? I’ve
taken care of her after everything that has happen to her up to now why
change?” he wanted to know.
“You’ve got to be kidding
right? You’re the one that said that you were done or am I mistaken?” Rick asked
him pissed.
“I was angry I didn’t mean
any of it.” He told them.
“Oh really? Well she seemed
to think you did asshole.” Rick shot back.
“You told her!” Jon asked shocked.
“Yes and we really didn’t have to because you
gave her some cock and bull story that if she fucked up again you’d leave her.”
Rick stated pissed as he moved forward at Jon as A.J. tried to get in-between
the two.
“All right you two knock it
off. We are taking her home Jon that’s where she wants to be.” A.J. told him.
Jon just stood there. Then he stormed past
them and went into the bedroom to get something. When he came out he turned
back to them and said, “Nope not happening so unpack her things. Rich tell the
guys to go ahead and eat without me but I’ll be there later in time for the
concert.” He said as he was out the door running.
The three men just stood
there staring at one another. Jon got to the hospital as fast as he could. When
he entered he walked up to the reception desk and asked what room Mary Simon
was in. Once he got that info he got into the elevator and once off made a
beeline to her room. When he got there he was surprised that she wasn’t there.
He paced back and forth seeing that he was nervous as it was. It wasn’t long
that a nurse brought her back to her room and she was surprised to see him
standing there waiting for her.
“Hey” he said to her.
“Hi.”
“Well do you want to sit up
for a while?” the nurse asked her.
“If you don’t mind?”
“Sure, let’s get you in the
chair.” She told Mary. Once in the chair the nurse left them so they could be
alone.
“So why are you here Jon? My brothers should
be back shortly.” She told him coldly.
Smiling, “I don’t think so I
just saw them at my suite they were packing your stuff. Why did you tell them
to do that?” he asked her.
“I thought it would be
better than you calling me and saying to get my stuff the hell out of there.
Besides I needed some stuff anyway.” She told him.
“I could have brought it to
you.” He said pulling up a chair next to her.
“Why the guys told me what
you said and I didn’t want to put you out. I’m no longer your problem so why
would you want to?” she asked him confused.
“Baby I was hurt ok? I’m
sorry. I was a jerk and if I can take it back I would. I love you more than
anything you know that right?” he asked her almost trembling.
“You hurt me Jon. I thought
they needed me. I didn’t do it to hurt you. I’d rather cut my own arm off than
to ever hurt you.” She told him but never looked at him only staring straight
ahead.
“I know Baby I know. I’m
sorry I should have never asked you to not to help your brothers out. I should have
know better than that. But you have to understand that I’m scared to death
every time that you go out and do those things. You getting hurt what if…I
can’t deal with that. But I do need to know one thing.” He asked her.
Turning her head, “What’s
that?” she asked.
“Do you forgive me?” he
asked hoping.
“Do I forgive you?” she
asked a little confused.
Shaking his head, “Yeah.”
“Oh course I forgive you do
you forgive me?”
“With all my heart.” He told her as he leaned
in and kissed her gently on the lips.
Separating “I love you too
Jon.” She told him.
“Good because now I have a
question to ask you.” He told her.
“What’s that?”


You didn't leave it there did you?
ReplyDeleteI think we need an extra chapter this week!