

“Why didn’t
you tell me this before?” he asked her.
“Because you were so excited about it and so
determined you wouldn’t have heard me anyway.” She told him smiling.
Sighing, “You’re probably right. But I may
have to join you when we tell Mom.” He said as he rolled his eyes.
Mary just
laughed. “Well at least we’ll be together like we wanted in the first place.”
She said as she wrapped her arms around him. Kissing the top of her head he
went to call the guys and ask them to come to their suite. They we’re all
thrill that they were back and couldn’t wait to find out what they were up to.
They all got
to the suite and were happy to see them. Jon had taken his ring off and put it
in his shaving kit so it wouldn’t get lost while Mary had her hand in her
pocket. Tico had his girl and David had April with him as Richie and Alex
didn’t bring anyone with them. Apparently Richie had broken up with Patty a few
months ago which Mary was sad to see go because she had became close to her.
“So well how were you’re few days off? Are you guy’s sick of each other yet?
Because if you are I’m available Beautiful.” Richie told her waggling his eyes
up and down.
Jon and Mary
just exchanged quick looks at each other as Jon spoke up. “Well Rich as a
matter of fact our days off were very interesting isn’t that right Babe?” Jon
said to his new Bride.
“Yes I thought
so. We made some decisions.” She said very deadpan. The guys just looked at
each other thinking that the statement Richie said was just in fun.
“Yeah man I
was just kidding. I mean you two are all right. Right?” Richie asked a little
nervous now.
“Well that depends.” Jon said as he looks at
Mary and winks.
“Oh come on
Jon don’t scare us you two aren’t breaking up are you?” David asked.
Jon held out
his hand as Mary took it in hers. “Well we do have something to tell you guys
about our relationship.” He said as he squeezed her hand. She felt bad for them
as Jon drew this out. “Okay, okay Mary and I decided that’ Mary squeezed his
hand really hard because it was his idea to elope.’ Ahhh okay it was my idea
and she went along with it.” He said as he looked at her with an annoyed look.
“Maybe I should have had second thoughts.” He said as she tried again to
squeeze his hand but this time he reversed the grip.
“Will you two
just get on with it I’m growing older by the minute here?” David said. April
smacked him in the back of his head. “Owe!”
“Serves you
right. Go ahead Jon.” April said.
“Thank You.
Okay to make a long story short Mary and I eloped last night in Vegas.” He told
them as Mary took out her hand and showed them her rings. They stood there for
a minute while Tico’s girl and April let out a scream and ran over to examine
her rings when finally the guys started to hug Jon.
“Well, well
the number one bachelor is finally off the market. Congrats.” David said.
“Yeah man
congrats.” Tico told him.
“Yeah Kidd
that’s great. Just great.” Richie said but not with that much enthusiasm. Jon
noticed it but thought he would talk to him later when they were alone.
Alex asked,
“Hey Jon have you told Doc yet? Because I don’t see him getting on board with
this yet.” Alex wasn’t one to pussy foot about. Tico and Dave were over by Mary
hugging and kissing her when Alex blurted that out.
“Alex!” Tico yelled.
“No Tico it’s
okay. No I haven’t told him or our families yet. We just got in about forty five
minutes ago. We were um to busy last night and this morning to ruin our mood.”
He told them with a smirk on his face. Mary gave him a dirty look as the guys
gave them cat calls.
“Oh will you
boys stop it right now!” she blurted out. The guys laughed as Jon walked over
to Mary and kissed her on the cheek.
“So when are
you going to tell your folks?” David asked.
“As soon as
you guys leave I guess or I decide to get drunk first.” Jon chuckled.
“Oh no you
don’t! You’re not leaving me with this to do alone!” she snapped at him.
“Especially since this was your idea!” she said as she poked him in his side.
“Oweee! That
hurt.” He said smiling.
“Wait a minute
this was you’re idea Jon?” Richie asked.
“Yeah why?”
Jon asked him back confused.
“No, no reason
it’s just that we’re in a middle of a tour and you decide to run off and get
married that’s all. It’s a little weird isn’t it?” Richie asked him.
Jon looking at him and wondering why he’s questioning
him like this. “What the hell King? What’s your problem? We had a few days off
and it didn’t interfere with anything. So why are you questioning my personal
life?” Jon asked him.
“I’m not
really it’s just, I mean, oh hell I don’t know what the hell I mean.” Richie
said and stormed out of the suite. They all just stood there staring at each
other.
It was Mary who broke the silence. “Funny I
thought Rich liked me?” she said as she tried to hold back her tears.
Jon looked at
her and wrapped his arms around her and kissed the back of her head. “I’ll talk
to him later but right now while we still have the guts we need to call our
families.” He said as he squeezed her. The rest of the guys left still
congratulating them as they left. Jon walked over to the phone and picked it
up. “Ok Babe who do you want to call first?” he asked.
“Well I think
Mom might take it better than your’s so I’ll dial.” She told him as she took
the phone.
It rang and on
the fourth ring Cecilia picked up. “Hello?”
“Hi Mom it’s
Mary.”
“Oh hello dear is everything alright?”
“Everything’s fine Mom. It’s just that Jon and
I have something to tell you.”
“Are you sure
everything is ok? Oh you’re not pregnant are you?” she asked abruptly.
“No Mar I’m not pregnant.”
She told her mother as she rolled her eyes at Jon. Jon tried not to laugh at
her but Mary still threw a pillow at him. “Mar, Jon and I eloped in Vegas.” She
said in one breath. She just figured to get it out and see what happens.
Cecilia
thought she was hearing things. Finally after about a minute or so went by she
asked her daughter, “You did what dear? I don’t think I heard you correctly.”
“I said we
eloped to Vegas?”
“That’s what I
thought you said.” Cecilia had to sit down as her legs were getting weak. “Are
you sure you’re not pregnant?”
“Yes Mommy I’m
sure.”
“I thought we were going to plan a wedding? What
spurred this?” her Mom asked.
“Well Jon
asked and I said yes. Plus he had a good argument. It would be like a circus if
we did because the paparazzi would be all over us if we did have a wedding Mom.
We’d never get any privacy and God only knows what his Mother would do.” She
told her mother as he gave her a look. She just looked back at him and mouthed
‘oops sorry.’ Cecilia thought about that a minute. “Plus Mom how am I supposed
to pick Rick and A.J. over each other to walk me down the aisle? I mean I guess
I could have asked both of them to do it but really it should be Rick since
he’s the oldest but I don’t want to hurt A.J.’s feelings and…”
“Ok Honey I understand that really I do. It
just would have been nice to have a wedding that’s all. You’re my only
daughter.” Cecilia said sadly.
“Well Mom we
can have a reception can’t we?” That seemed to cheer Cecilia up a bit.
“You know
that’s a great idea. When can we have it so I can start planning it?”
“Um well I’ll have to check Jon’s schedule so
I’ll have to get back to you but it probably won’t be for a while. At least not
till they come back to San Diego to play but I’ll let you know in a week or so
I promise. Can you tell the guys for me I don’t think I can this has been too
much for me? Thanks Mom I love you too, Bye.”
Mary looked at
Jon as she hung up the phone. “Well it’s your turn and if you think I’m helping
you in any freaking way you are sadly mistaken!”
Jon went to
sit beside her. “Why was it really that bad?” he chuckled.
“Yes and you
didn’t lift on finger to help me. So you’re on your own Mister!” she said
determinedly.
“Well fine give me the phone and wish me
luck.” He said. It only rang twice when his Dad answered the phone.
“Hello? Jonny
what’s up son?” his father asked him.
“Actually
quite a lot Pop is Mom there with you?”
“Why yes she’s in the kitchen do you want me
to go get her?” he asked his son.
“Um can you
put her on the kitchen phone so I can talk to the both of you at the same
time?” he asked his Dad.
“Sure just
hold on a second alright.” John Sr. said. He went to tell his wife that their
son was on the phone and that he wanted to talk to both of them and to pick up
the kitchen phone while he was to listen on the living room one. Carol didn’t
need to be told twice. Jon who was the oldest and her golden child, well she
never gave up the chance to speak to him or what she could get from him.
“Jonny sweetie
what is it that you both want your father and me on the phone?” she asked.
“Well I have
some wonderful news.” He said as Mary huffed next to him. He turned to her and
stuck his tongue out at her while she giggled at him so he rolled his eyes as
he went back to his conversation with his parents.
“Really Dear
well don’t keep us in suspense what it is?” Carol asked excited.
“Well Mary and
I eloped last night in Vegas. You have a new daughter-in-law.” He told them.
“Really? Well congratulations son. Is she
there with you?” John Sr. asked.
“Yeah Pop
she’s sitting right here next to me.” Jon told his Dad.
“Well put her
on I want to speak to my new daughter.” He said but Carol interjected.
“Don’t You
Dare!” she said very loudly and angrily. It didn’t really surprise either man
that she would be upset. “How could you! How could you do this to me and your
family Jon!” she spouted to him.
Jon couldn’t believe what he was hearing. “How
could I do what Mom?” he asked his mother trying very hard not to blow.
“How could you marry that girl? I thought this
fling with her was just that a fling and you’d get bored by now. But to marry
her! How could you?” She ranted.
“Carol that’s
enough! Our son called with some good news and you’re ruining it for him. As
long as he’s happy what does it matter? Plus Mary is a nice girl and comes from
a nice family.” John Sr. abolished his wife for ruining his son’s wonderful
news. Mary could hear the loud voices coming from the phone so she knew it
wasn’t very good. She felt bad for Jon because she also knew that his mother
didn’t like her for some reason. Why she really didn’t know but it could have
been the old reason of she stole her son from her or first-born son. She knew
it sounded dumb but in some cases it was very true. And where Carol was
concerned boy was it true!
“Oh my God
she’s pregnant! Jon you need a second opinion because it might not be yours.”
Carol told him.
“Mom Oh my God! She’s not pregnant first of
all, and second if she was yes it would be mine! That’s just really rude for
you to say that it wouldn’t be!” Jon said as his voice gotten much louder now.
Mary just looked at him with a rather shocked look on her face. “Look I wanted to call you before it hit the
news so you wouldn’t freak out. So mission accomplished. Dad thank you for
being happy for Mary and me. Mom I feel sorry for you that you can’t be happy
for us or for you for that matter because until you can accept Mary I don’t
want you anywhere around her or me until you can. Pop I’ll talk to you later,
bye.” And Jon hung up the phone.
Mary just
looked at Jon in shock. “What?” he said rather roughly to her.
“Nothing it’s
just that I take it that they didn’t take the news very well.” She said trying
to be very careful on how she said it.
Looking at
her, “You think?” he snapped at her.
“Well we kind
of knew that they weren’t going to be happy about it didn’t we?” she asked him
softly.
“Yes we knew
that but I didn’t realize that Mom was going to freak out that bad about this
the way she did.” He said as his voice was getting louder by the minute.
Mary was
trying to stay calm. “Funny how everyone thinks I’m pregnant thou huh? Just
because we ran off and got married I guess that’s the first thing that pops
into everyone’s mind.” She said trying to make conversation.
Jon got up from the couch and stared at her
for a second or two when he started to get louder and what she thought was
yelling at this point. “Yeah everyone thinks I just knocked you up! That’s why
we had to get married. That’s what Doc’s gonna say too when we tell him. I just
don’t fucking get it!” he was yelling at this point.
Richie was
thinking of going down to the bar and as he was walking by their suite when he
heard Jon yelling at someone. Thinking to himself he felt that Jon couldn’t be
yelling at Mary at least not this early in their honeymoon stage. So he decided
to see what the problem was only because he knew if Mary couldn’t calm him down
he knew he could. He opened the door and luckily it was unlocked.
He peeked in and could see
Jon yelling at Mary as she stood there in what appeared to him in shock as he
was yelling at her. She looked like she was about to cry and he was too
absorbed in himself to even notice. “Hey what’s all the racket about?” Richie
yelled into the room. The two of them turned to the door and looked at Richie
as he finally entered the room.
“What are you
doing here?” Jon snapped at him.
“Well hello to
you too. I could hear you yelling all the way out in the hallway you jackass.
What the hell are you yelling about?” he asked his best friend.
“What the hell
do care?” Jon again snapped at him.
“What does
that mean?” Richie asked.
“Jon?” Mary
said but Jon stopped her.
“Shut up! This
is between me and him!” he snapped at her.
“HEY! Don’t talk to her like that!” Richie
yelled at him. But before Richie even finished Mary had stormed out of the room
and into the bedroom and slammed the door. “Good going Kidd! Guess the
honeymoon is over.” Richie said sarcastically.
“Mind your own
business Richie.” Jon told him as he gave him the stink eye.
“What the hell
is wrong with you? You guys came in here not an hour ago happy as can be and
now you’re screaming at her. What did she do?” Richie wanted to know.
Jon just
looked at him running his hands thru his hair. Walking over to the bar he
pulled out a bottle of Jack and poured himself a drink. “You want one?” he
asked Richie.
“Sure I was heading down to the bar so I might
as have one here instead.” Richie said. “So you going to answer my question
Kidd or what?”
“I fucked up
Rich, I so fucked up.” He said as he downed his drink as it burned going down.
He poured himself another.
“Okay I’ll
bite how did you fuck up?”
“You heard me
I was yelling at her so I fucked up.”
“Well why were you yelling at her dumbass?” he
asked as he took his drink and downed his.
Jon took his
glass and poured him another. “We called our folks and told them we eloped.
Mrs. Simon, I mean Cecilia, Mom, whatever she was okay with it mostly when Mary
told her she could throw a reception for us at some point in time. But of
course my Mother went ballistic when I told her. I didn’t even give her time to
tell me to get it annulled. I just told her if she couldn’t except Mary then
she wouldn’t see me either until she could, then I hung up.” He explained to
Richie.
“Yeah but you
knew Mom was going to react like that so why did it surprise you. I’m surprise
she didn’t ask if she was pregnant?” Richie laughed. Jon just gave him a sly
look. “Oh my God she did didn’t she?” he asked not very surprised.
“Yep in fact
both Mothers asked that question. Mary wasn’t too upset with her Mom but wasn’t
too surprised either when my Mom did ask. But Rich when Mom asked me I was so
pissed I just blew. For her to think that was the only reason I would get
married to anyone and not for love really pissed me off you know.”
Richie could
see that his friend was visibly upset. But he had to tell him like it was. “I
hate to get you more angry Kidd but after you got off the phone did you ever
consider Mary’s feeling’s in this?” he asked.
“What do you
mean?”
“Well you
really laid into her.”
“Why weren’t
you happy for us earlier?” he asked him.
“What do you
mean?” Richie asked.
“Earlier when
we were all together and everyone was congratulating us you didn’t seem too
happy for us. Why?” Jon asked him.
“You really want to know why because it’s
going to sound really stupid.” he said.
“Yeah Rich
we’re best friends so I want to know.” He said. They’ve been best friends for
years the closest in the band. So Jon wanted to know what was bothering him.
“Well you and I have done almost everything
together right and now with you married I’m going to be the third wheel. I
guess I was just feeling sorry for myself that’s all. Plus you usually tell me
everything and you didn’t tell me this so I was really feeling left out.” He
said as he had his head down.
“Ah man Rich I
never told Mary either. I surprised her. She never knew where we were going
until we got there. And as for the third wheel you’ll never be that she knows
that.” He told Richie as he walked over and gave Richie a big hug.
“Thanks man
but I think you need to apologize to her for yelling at her. Remember you did
ask her to elope it wasn’t the other way around.” He told a remorseful Jon.
She couldn’t believe he was
acting like an asshole all of a sudden. She didn’t act like that when she got
off the phone with her mother. At first Cecilia wasn’t too thrilled about them
running off and getting married either but she didn’t take it out on him now
did she. And what the hell it was his idea in the freaking first place the
dumbass. She was flitting around the room ranting and raving to herself and
being very animated. She was wondering if he was always like this and just
noticing it now or just on tour. She also didn’t know if she wanted to cry or
just scream. Maybe both. She did know one thing she wanted to smack him. She
also wanted to get the hell out of there but then she would have to go thru the
living room and he would see her leave. Damn she should have just left when
Richie came in. She went and laid down on the bed because she started to get a
headache all of a sudden. Ever since that incident where that idiot grabbed her
in the ladies room of their first job with the guys and assaulted her because
he was after Jon and smashed her head against the wall her migraines have been
getting worse. She’ll have to remember next time she’s home to call the doctor
to have him take a look and see what he can do. In the meantime she has been
getting pills from Alex to take care of the pain and keeping it from Jon.
Alex’s knows what she going thru because his sister also has migraines and
knows what she needs. But he is keeping it under wraps because she asked him
too and because he feels that Jon gets everything he wants and this is
something that he can’t control and that he can. And that she reminds him of
his sister.
Richie left Jon and told him
to make amends with his new bride but also to clear the air with her. Jon
walked back and forth in front of the bedroom door thinking of what he was
going to say to her or more to the point beg for her forgiveness. He opened the
door very slowly and peeked thru just in case she decided to throw something at
him. He wasn’t going to take any chances and he wasn’t going to blame her
either. When he looked he saw her on the bed so he walked in and as he walked
closer to the bed he noticed that her eyes were closed. He carefully crawled
onto the bed and noticed that her breathing was slow and labored so he knew
that she was sleeping. He didn’t want to wake her and piss her off even more so
he just carefully got off and went back into the living room and decided that
he had to tell Doc that he had eloped. He wanted to do it with her anyway
seeing that Doc was going to be furious and didn’t want her in the line of
fire. Doc was coming in for the concert only because the guys were getting an
award for their 7800 Fahrenheit album going platinum plus he wanted to talk
about the next one that should be in the works. Mary slept most of the
afternoon away and when she woke up and went into the living room she found a
note from Jon saying that he had to meet up with Doc since he was coming in
that afternoon and he wanted a meeting with him. Well of course he did and she
also knew what Jon was going to tell him and she knew that he didn’t want her
there either. Which was fine by her she hated the man he reminded her of Col.
Tom Parker and was afraid that he was going to do the same thing to Jon that,
that idiot did to Elvis and God help him if he did.

No comments:
Post a Comment